Back to All Events

Phil Slater Quintet

Phil Slater -trumpet; Matt Keegan - saxophone; Matt McMahon - piano; Brett Hirst - bass; Simon Barker - drums.

Award-winning trumpeter and composer, leader (or co-leader) of Sun Songbook, Band of Five Names, Daorum, and Trace Sphere and lecturer at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music, Phil Slater is widely considered one of the country's finest trumpeters. He has performed and recorded with many artists including Archie Roach, Mike Nock, Baecastuff, Katie Noonan, Paul Grabowsky, Australian Art Orchestra, Sandy Evans, Pnau, DIG, Vince Jones, Missy Higgins, Lou Reed, Martha Wainwright, Jonathan Zwartz, Steve Hunter, and Nigel Kennedy. Winner of the National Jazz Award, the Limelight Award for ‘Outstanding Contribution to Australian Jazz’, the Bell Award for Australian Jazz Musician of the Year, the Bell Award for Contemporary Jazz Ensemble of the Year (Phil Slater Quartet) and the Music Council of Australia Freedman Fellowship, Slater will bring his prodigious talent and his eponymous quintet featuring an all-star cast of Australian jazz masters to the Conservatorium Auditorium on 28 July to play his highly acclaimed compositions.

$17G/$12C/$10S online or $20G/$15C/$10S on the door

Earlier Event: 16 July
Far Beyond
Later Event: 4 August
Performance Day #3